Flag of Cuba

The flag of Cuba was officially adopted on May 20, 1902, although it had been in use for over fifty years before this date. The flag is rectangular with alternating blue and white horizontal stripes (three blue and two white).  On the left side is a red triangle with a white star in the center.

Six Cuban revolutionaries—Narciso López, Miguel Teurbe Tolón, José Aniceto Iznaga Borrell, José Maria Sánchez Iznaga, Cirilo Villaverde, and Juan Manuel Macías—designed the flag in 1848 during the country’s battle for independence from Spain. Tradition holds that while these revolutionaries held their meetings, Narciso Lopez’s wife embroidered the first Cuban flag, and that the ideas for the flag were those of Miguel Tuerbe Tolón, who was also a poet.  López, who led the revolutionaries, carried the Cuban flag for the first time at the Battle of Cárdenas in 1850 and the Battle of Playitas in 1851.

The flag’s design holds symbolic meaning.  At the time of Cuba’s independence, the country was divided into three parts: Central Cuba, Occidental Cuba, and Oriental Cuba. These regions of the country are represented by the three blue stripes on the flag.  The two white stripes in between the blue stripes represent the strength and purity of the independence movement.  The red, as in many national flags, represents the bloodshed of the Cuban revolutionaries during the independence era.  Today the red also stands for equality, brotherhood, and liberty.  The white star symbolizes an independent and free Cuba.

In 1869, after Cuba gained independence from Spain, the Cuban flag became the national flag of the Republic of Cuba until the Spanish-American War in 1899.  From 1899 until 1902, Cuba was required to fly the United States flag, as the country was under siege by the U.S.  When Cuba gained independence from American control in 1902, the Cuban government officially adopted the current flag.

The Flag of Cuba

The flag of Cuba was officially adopted on May 20, 1902, when the United States granted the island, which it had seized control of during the Spanish-American War, its independence. The flag of Cuba’s origins however go back much further than 1902.

The flag of Cuba was designed in 1849 by a poet named Miguel Teurbe Tolón. Tolón’s design included three blue stripes, representing the three parts of the county that were divided from one another during the wars for independence, and two white stripes, which represented the purity of the patriotic cause. The design’s red triangle is meant to stand for the blood that was shed in order to free the nation, while the white star at its center is representative of the island’s independence.

This flag of Cuba was carried into battle by a Venezuelan military leader named Narciso López during his attempt to liberate Cuba. Although López was not victorious, it was indeed the first instance in the flag of Cuba was flown.

According the current government of Cuba (the Castro regime), the meaning behind the flag of Cuba is as follows: the blue strips represent the old divisions of the island; the white stripes represent the strength of the independent ideal; the red triangle symbolizes equality, fraternity and freedom, as well as the blood that was shed during the wars for independence.

Aside from this official flag of Cuba, Fidel Castro’s “26th of July Movement” also created a flag of Cuba which is equally divided into red and black portions, usually in the form of horizontal stripes. The flag often bears inscriptions as well. This flag of Cuba is often flown on public building on the island.