Flag of Spain

The Flag of Spain is defined in the Spanish Constitution of 1978 as consisting of three horizontal stripes — red, yellow, and red. The yellow stripe is twice as wide as the red stripes. The origin of the current flag is from the Naval Ensign of 1785. Its use is pretty limited.

Spanish Flag

The National Flag is used for the state and war flags and must be charged with the Spanish coat of arms. The original version was adopted in 1785 but the current version was adopted on October 5, 1981. This flag is the more commonly used flag in Spain.

Flag Protocol: The flag can only be flown from public buildings, private homes, ships, businesses, town squares, or official ceremonies horizontally. Although the flag should be flown from sunrise to sunset (like most other countries), Spanish Government Offices in Spain and abroad must fly the flag 24-7 with the flag being properly illuminated at night. The flags cannot be spoiled or damaged in any way.

When the Spanish flag is flown with other flags, the order should be the national flag, the flags of foreign states, the flag of the European Union, international NGOs, military and government standards, autonomous communities’ flags, city flags, and any others.

When mourning activities are planned, the flag can be flown at half-mast or a black ribbon can be attached to the flag that is permanently attached to a staff. During a funeral ceremony, the flag is allowed to be draped over the casket of government officials, soldiers, and persons designated by an act of the President. Those flags are then folded and presented to the family before burial