Vatican Flag

Just like most other people, at first glance I would have never imagined that there was a flag specific to Vatican City. This is not the case however, as the current Vatican flag has been in place for over 70 years. The flag of the Vatican was originally adopted on June 7, 1929 by then Pope Pius XI. The flag was created as part of the treaty recognizing Vatican City as an independent state.

vatican flag

The Vatican flag is one of the most unique flags of any country or state in the entire world – in fact, there is only one other flag in the world like it. The Vatican flag consists of two vertical bands, one yellow and the other white. The interesting thing to note, however, is that the Vatican flag is actually square – one of only two flags in the world like this (the other being Switzerland).

On the right side of the Vatican flag sits the traditional Vatican City Coat of Arms, emblazoned upon a white background. The Vatican City Coat of Arms is a very symbolic representation of both the papacy and the Holy City. For example, there are two crossed keys displayed on the coat of arms; one gold and the other silver. The keys are symbolic of Matthew 16: 18-19, where God promises the keys of heaven to Saint Peter. Also displayed on the Vatican City Coat of Arms is the traditional tiara of the Papacy, a three-tiered crown. The three tiers of the crown are meant to symbolize the three functions of the priest; supreme priest, supreme pastor, and supreme teacher. Finally, displayed upon the top of the tiara is the traditional golden cross, representative of course of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. All in all, the flag of the Vatican is perhaps one of the most symbolic and meaningful flags of any country in the world.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s