Flag of New Hampshire

The flag of New Hampshire was officially adopted in 1909. Prior to that time period, the state of New Hampshire had a number of regimental flags to represent the state. The flag has been modified only once since its adoption in 1909 when the state’s seal was modified in 1931.

Flag of New Hampshire

The body of the New Hampshire flag is blue. Upon the center of the flag rests the state’s seal with the frigate Raleigh. These are surrounded by laurel leaves and nine stars. The frigate Raleigh is tipped on the flag to appear as though it’s floating on water. The nine stars represent New Hampshire as the ninth state to enter the union.

New Hampshire Statutes state, “The state flag shall be of the following color and design: The body or field shall be blue and shall bear upon its center in suitable proportion and colors a representation of the state seal. The seal shall be surrounded by a wreath of laurel leaves with nine stars interspersed. When used for military purposes the flag shall conform to the regulations of the United States.”

In a 2001 survey of members of the North American Vexillological Association, the New Hampshire state flag design was ranked as one of the ten worst flags within the United States, Canadian provinces, or select nations. In 2003, at least one elected official has suggested replacing the state seal in the center of the flag; however, no official action has ever been taken on that proposal.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s